Sunday, 14 August 2016

Blood Sister by Dreda Say Mitchell

Blood Sister (Flesh and Blood Trilogy, #1)Blood Sister by Dreda Say Mitchell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - <1 day

Pages - 400

Publisher - Hodder

The first in a trilogy following one family over forty years on an East London estate, BLOOD SISTER is non-stop drama, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller.

There are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad.

Jen Miller is determined not to make the same mistakes her mother did. She's waiting to find herself a good job and a decent man.

Her younger sister Tiff is running errands for a gangster and looking for any opportunity for fun and profit. But she might just be in over her head...

The choices you make and the plans you have don't always turn out like you expect. Especially when you live on The Devil's Estate. Jen and Tiff are about to learn that the hard way.

At least they can rely on each other.

Can't they?


My Review

Jen & Tiff Miller are sisters living and doing what they can to get through life on Essex Lane Estate, locally known as The Devil's Estate. Jen wants a better life than what their mother has managed, Tiff just wants to have fun and not be bored. Each sister makes choices that will shape their life and time on the estate & learn that with all choices come consequences.

Oooh this is a fabulous start to what is to be a trilogy, Jen is the smart one who won't lower herself to settling for any of the boys going nowhere on the estate. Tiff is bored, known to the police and not adverse to getting inebriated down at the graveyard. When an opportunity to get involved with some known faces arises Tiff grabs it with both hands. Both sisters are drawn into the world that keeps places like The Devil's Estate going, corruption, violence, death & money are just the beginning. The time span of this novel is over ten years, 1993 to 2003, setting the stage and introducing some of the key characters who are guaranteed to keep the readers on their toes. An explosive beginning to what I am sure will be a great trilogy although I am not sure what the next novel will hold, I cannot wait until it is out 4/5 for me this time. Thanks to BookBridgr for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.



View all my reviews

5 comments:

  1. I've not heard of this author and I love crime books set in London - thanks for sharing

    ReplyDelete
  2. Covering large swaths in time of a family's life can make for really good reading.

    Based on the plot description I would want the characters of the each sister to be complex and not be simplistic. I think if they are portrayed too much as "opposites" it could mar the story.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh I do enjoy a good family saga and these two sisters certainly sound like they make for a good story.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Lainy, I'm glad you enjoyed the first book in this series. Excellent review! I had not heard of this series before.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Bless you Lainy for a wonderful review. Chuffed to pieces you enjoyed. Dreda x

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive