Thursday, 26 March 2015

The Lie by C L Taylor

The LieThe Lie by C.L. Taylor
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 1 day

Publisher - Avon

Pages - 368

Blurb from Goodreads

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that’s what Emma, Daisy, Leanne and Al think. But all that changes when they embark on a trip of a lifetime together. When they return home, only two of them are left alive and the group has been torn apart by lies and deception.

Many years later, when the dust has settled and life has moved on, one girl receives a threatening letter. Someone knows the truth about what happened on that holiday and will stop at nothing to expose it …



My Review

The story splits between 2 time periods, present day with Jane Hughes and 5 years ago, when Jane was Emma Woolfe, preparing to go on holiday with her friends before their lives would change. Emma has changed her identity in order to escape the horror and scandal that happened back on what should have been the holiday of a life time. However, someone knows "Janes" secret and wants her to pay. The opening chapter sees her receiving a letter with one line "I know your name's not really Jane Hughes" at her work. This of course sends Jane into a spin and things start to happen that makes Jane fear for her safety. The story goes smoothly between the two time periods and the girls preparing for their holiday and then the events that transpire, leading up to present day.

This is a great story, it delves into how friendships can deteriorate and how things can go from a dream holiday with friends to terror, suspicion and murder. The author spins a tale that draws you in and leaves you unable to put the book down. When your reading present day you don't want it to jump back in time, when your reading the past you don't want to come back to the present.

The end came too quickly for me and I felt the past reveal which had a fantastic build up but seemed just a wee bit rushed for me, I wanted more which I suppose always shows how good an author is. Always leave a reader wanting more and Taylor did that for me this time, the present day finale was well done though. This author is for a watching, if you haven't read her debut you should grab a copy, completely unrelated to this tale but fabulous non the less. 4/5 for me this time, thanks so much to Avon for sending me an ARC of this, you can get your own copy out on the 23rd of April, 2015!

View all my reviews

4 comments:

  1. Fab review Lainy, an author I need to catch up on as I still need to read The Accident too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great commentary on this book Lainy.

    I like the idea of shifting back and forth over between a five year interval to a significant and traumatic event.

    It seems that I am reading that lots of newer books are ending too quickly. It makes me wonder if this is a trend in writing that is going on as of late.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like an intense read. I love books that straddle time periods. I will have to look for this one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It sounds like the author dealt the writing the two time periods smoothly. I like the identity change plotline. Nice review and glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive