Monday, 24 July 2017

The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson

The Woman Who Met Her MatchThe Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - on and off over 3 days

Publisher - Avon

Pages - 400

Blurb from Goodreads

What if your first love came back on the scene . . . 30 years later?

After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson.


My Review

We open at the Summer of 1986 where we meet our main character Lorrie, just a slip of a girl at 16, not very confident and shipped over to France for an exchange. She meets her first love and is heartbroken when she goes home. Fast forward thirty years, her children have signed her up for online dating, after a few disastrous dates Lorrie's first love gets in touch out of the blue. Lorrie is a responsible adult, a mother, making woman feel gorgeous with beauty products she can't just leave it all to chase her first love, or can she?

This is a lovely wee book, funny, light and some darker themes of loss and discrimination in the work place. Dating disasters, friendship, love, loyalty and trying to get yourself back after fully focusing on your kids and picking up life after a bereavement. Humor is laced throughout and I think because so many of the themes within the book are applicable to your normal every day person that there is something for everyone in this story. The chapters are relatively short which is great if you don't have time to sit and get stuck right in, had I had more time I would have read this in one sitting.

Lorrie is a relate-able character, a good heart, focusing on family and to be honest a wee bit of a door mat at times where you are urging her to stand up for herself. I found myself getting really invested in the characters, we all have a family member who is self involved, someone else we are looking out for. The element of the one who got away and what would happen if they got in touch again is something most people have thought about once in their adult life, if not more. A great read for a blue day or just by the pool. This was my first time reading this author, I absolutely would read her again. Thanks to Avon Books for introducing me to a new author and putting her on my radar, I will be looking up more of her work, 4/5 for me this time.

View all my reviews

4 comments:

  1. Lainy, this sounds very engaging, due to the "real" characters. Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Lainy, Lorrie sounds like a character the audience will root for and I like how her character undergoes a transformation,feeling at the beginning of the book that her life is settled but she decides to take a risk and things change for the better. Sounds like an author to follow.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Though perhaps not my cup of tea, nostalgia for the 1980s is always fascinating. 1986 was also an interesting year for me :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh this looks like a good read. I really like the sound of this one and I like second chance romances.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive