Sunday, 22 September 2013

ARC - Bad Blood by Mark Sennen

Bad Blood (A DI Charlotte Savage Novel)Bad Blood by Mark Sennen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 5 days

Publisher - Avon

Blurb from Goodreads

‘We’re going to find them, sort them, pay them back …’

When the body of a six-year-old girl is found buried beneath a patio, nobody is surprised when a local paedophile is murdered shortly afterwards. But when a member of DI Charlotte Savage’s team is abducted and several men are executed in cold blood it becomes apparent that there’s a psychopath on the loose with no mercy for his victims…

It becomes clear that the killer isn’t selecting his victims at random and soon Savage is in a race against time to stop him. But what if this man has a message for Charlotte herself? One she won’t forget in a hurry. It’s payback time. Deadly payback time.

Part thriller, part police procedural, a must-read for fans of Mark Billingham and Chris Carter.


My Review

This is the second in a series, I was given an ARC copy from the publisher so this is my first encounter with this author. I think, personally I would recommend you go and get the first book in the series instead of starting with this one as I believe it will make the story more enjoyable. The story opens with the prologue, we meet the mastermind bad guy, Ricky Budgeon and a very brief look into his views on what has happened prior and brings him to the actions that follow. A bit vague? I thought so too and the theme follows throughout the story but it does all come together and information is released in snippets.

We move on to Savage, who turns out to be DI Charlotte Savage, at home with her family when she gets a reminder from a colleague about the PSD (Public Standards Department) inquiry meeting regarding her actions in a previous case. I believe this is also something that happened in the last book although I am not 100% sure. We then go to another scene where a body is discovered and DI Savage is called in, our story really starts here. Soon a child’s body is discovered, linked to an old residence of a paedophile and soon a paedophile is found murdered.
Shortly after that a member of DI Savages team goes missing, bodies are turning up murdered in vicious and horrific crime scenes and Savage and her team are running out of time to solve the mystery and save their colleague.


Exhausted reading all that? It is quite a lot to take in and to be honest, had I read the first book and had a feel for some of the characters it would probably have been a lot easier to get into. As it was I felt there was a lot of characters to try and get to know, a few different stories lines going on and I had to re read bits to try and establish what was going on.
There is a lot happening and plenty to keep you interested and intrigued as to what is going to happen and who is linked to whom but I would suggest reading it in big chunks or in one go if you can. Reading this over a few days can be a bit hard going as it is such a busy story.
It is quite violent and gorey, there is a lot of swearing and quite a few terms that are racist so be warned it may offend quite a few readers. DI Savage I found to be hard to like, she has been through a lot which may attribute to her attitude and almost total disregard for her professional standards and behaviour. She seemed like a loose cannon at times rather than a level headed leader of a police team and lead investigator in a high profile case. As I said I think maybe going back and reading the first book would give a bit of clarity and help with the enjoyment and understanding of this book.


All your ends are eventually tied up, most things are linked and explained although at the end of this book a character throws a curve ball that will pull followers from the first story to get the third book. I have only read book two however I want clarification and closure on this particular issue from the stories, a rather clever ploy from the author, always leave them wanting more. A rather mixed bag for me, it annoyed me on so many levels but got me there in the end and had enough intrigue to keep me going to the end so 3/5 for me this time. Thanks to Avon Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review and for introducing me to this author whom I will read again. This book is available to buy from all good retailers from the 26th of September 2013, in paperback format and for the kindle.


View all my reviews

10 comments:

  1. Hey Lainy, thanks for visiting me!
    I will add your blog to my faves so I can come back.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Lainy, thanks for stopping by and following my blog. I'd be interested to hear how many of the banned books you've read. It's a very interesting list, isn't it? I'm now following you on Twitter and will bookmark your page to stop by and check out your reviews.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A comprehensive review and I applaud you for reading and reviewing without having read the first in the series. I do not think I will be reading it though.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It does sound like there is a lot happening here. It seems like reading the first book is a good idea. Nice, even handed review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hi Lainy,

    Thanks for stopping by Fiction Books. I love 'meeting' new people, so your visits will always be welcome and your comments always appreciated.

    I was getting really excited when I first started reading this post, as murder/mystery ... suspense/thrillers are my favourite genres and finding a new to me author is always good, especially when they are British.

    Your review (which is excellent by the way) started off okay, then you mentioned that I really need to be reading the books in chronological order, as Mark tends to leave his story endings open, ready for the next installment.

    Now my interest isn't so great. I am notoriously bad at reading a series of books in any kind of order, although there are always ways and means of overcoming that hurdle, but the one thing I can't abide is a book that doesn't have some form of closure and a conclusive ending to a particular story.

    I see that the books have been quite highly rated and reviewed and that there is a third book due out ('Cut Dead') early in the New Year. I can't quite make my mind up whether this is a series for me or not.

    Have a good week and thanks once again for a great review,

    Yvonne

    ReplyDelete
  6. Some series books can be read out of order - some not so much. Thanks for your review and for stopping by my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Loving the cover and your review but alas I'm still not convinced this is one for me.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I think your advice about reading the first book in the series before this one is a good idea. It sounds as though there are lots of characters to get to know. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  9. First off, let me thank you for the visit to My Reading Corner today, but also becoming my latest follower. I have now become one of your followers. Thanks for visiting me today or I never would have found your lovely blog.

    I have given up reading series, unless, they are stand-alone books also. I hate a book that doesn't have a satisfying ending, and I have to keep reading more in the series. Very nice review.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hence, the weblink between Big Idea Mastermind and Encourage System. Of course, there is the Energy or the site guests to create the company up and operating.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive