Sunday, 4 August 2019

A Whisker in the Dark by Leighann Dobbs

Today is my turn on the blog tour for A Whisker in the Dark by author Leighann Dobbs, for my stop I have my review.



About the author



USA Today bestselling author, Leighann Dobbs, discovered her passion for writing after a twenty year career as a software engineer. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband Bruce, their trusty Chihuahua mix Mojo and beautiful rescue cat, Kitty. Her book “Dead Wrong” won the “Best Mystery Romance” award at the 2014 Indie Romance Convention. Her book “Ghostly Paws” was the 2015 Chanticleer Mystery & Mayhem First Place category winner in the Animal Mystery category.

Social Media links Website
Twitter
Facebook




Available to buy NOW Buy Link

A Whisker In The Dark (Oyster Cove Guesthouse, #2)A Whisker In The Dark by Leighann Dobbs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 1 day

Pages - 233

Publisher - Bookouture

Source - Review copy

Blurb from Goodreads

Discovering the 300-year-old skeleton of shipping tycoon Jedediah Biddeford in the ballroom wall is a big old hassle for Josie Waters, owner of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse. Especially when Biddeford’s descendants turn up, certain that a family legend about treasure buried nearby must be true.

Josie is too busy dreaming up the perfect cake for the Oyster Cove’s 250th anniversary celebration to worry about the Biddeford family – plus half the town – digging up her yard... until one of her guests is murdered in the guesthouse garden.

With worries that her guesthouse will get a reputation for being the kind of place you only leave in a body bag, Josie must put her detective skills to work to find the killer. Lucky for her, Nero and Marlowe and their gang of cat sleuths are also on the case.

From the old wharf, to the town common, to the guesthouse itself with its many nooks and crannies, the cats are sure to sniff out the killer… but can they help Josie stop the person behind the mysterious murder before they strike again?

A fantastic page-turner from a bestselling author, purrfeect for fans of Agatha Christie, Adele Abbott, cat lovers and everyone in between!

Readers absolutely love the Oyster Cove Guesthouse series!


My Review

So this is book two of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse series, I have never read this author before but I don't feel I missed out by starting here. Josie Waters owns the guesthouse and is still finding her feet getting into the routine, cooking (without ruining the food) and a bit of a revamp going on. During which a skeleton is uncovered, this isn't the first time a body has been found in the guesthouse but this one is a few hundred years old and may be a relation to her current guests. Add to that there is a rumour of treasure bringing everyone and their shovels to Josie's yard to dig.

So the chapters alternate between Josie and her cats, Nero and Marlowe, the cats love a good investigation but how do they communicate with the silly humans? The cats speak to each other and do their own thing whilst Josie tries to keep on top of the challenges presented by running a guest house, looking after visitors, small town rumours, personal life and of course a murder mystery.

I loved the cat chapters, it won't be for everyone but I have read a few books with animals being characters and their point of views. They bring a bit of furry humour and sass which as a cat lover totally appeals to me. With them investigating along with the humans it was reminiscence of my Scoobie Doo days and the gang investigating only the humans in this don't realise the cats are awesome and helping.

There is a lot of family issues, friendships, police investigation, red herrings and I loved the overall feel of it was like watching a Murder She Wrote. You think one thing then something changes so you think you have it figured then something else makes you re evaluate. I love when a book does that and I think I am now a fan of cozy mysteries, sure this is the first one I have read.

I will absolutely be checking out the other books by this author and hope little paws are in them all, it is very cute but doesn't take away from the murder/investigation parts of the story, in fact for me it added to it. 4/5 for me this time, first dance with Dobbs but it won't be my last!



View all my reviews

2 comments:

  1. Lainy, I'm glad you enjoyed this mystery. It has a clever title, as cozies often do, Terrific review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just in the mood for what I feel is a cozy mystery, this sounds like it fits the bill perfectly.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive