Saturday, 20 July 2019

The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington Blog Tour







Today is my turn on the blog tour for The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington, for my stop I have my review, enjoy.

The Missing Wife: The gripping new psychological thriller with a killer twistThe Missing Wife: The gripping new psychological thriller with a killer twist by Sam Carrington
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 1 day

Pages - 400

Publisher - Avon

Source - Review copy

Blurb from Goodreads

You think you know those closest to you. You are wrong…

A sleep-deprived new mother approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing Louisa wants to do is celebrate.

But when her friend Tiff organises a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Louisa’s Facebook friends, Louisa is faced with a room full of people she hasn’t spoken to in years – including someone she never expected to see again: her ex-boyfriend, Oliver Dunmore.

When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers the night differently. Someone knows what happened to Melissa, and Louisa is determined to find them. But the truth could be closer, and the deception more devastating, than she’d ever imagined…

A gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing’s My Lovely Wife, Lucy Clarke’s You Let Me In and Linda Green’s The Last Thing She Told Me.



My Review

The last thing Louisa needs is a surprise party, she is overwrought, drained, up and down and looking after her wee baby, teen and husband. Time off work and trying to adjust to being mum to a baby again, emotions and nerves are fraught. When her bestie and husband arrange a surprise 40th Louisa can't imagine anything worse, she is wrong. Her ex and guy who broke her heart not only gets invited and comes with his new wife. Louisa gets smashed, remembers little of the actual party and now her ex, Olivers wife is missing. Louisa is having flashbacks, her emotions are all over the place, Oliver is at every turn and Louisa seems to be getting further away from the very people she should be able to trust.

Oh I feel for Louisa, she seems so vulnerable, trying to keep her crap together and her emotions in check. She is shattered, her family not helping out and even her bestie isn't as understanding as you would like. People seem to be against her and as the reader you can't help but wonder is it because Louisa is losing it or is it the folk around her we shouldn't choose.

Claustrophobic isn't the word I want to use but it is closest to describe how I felt reading this book, imaging how Louisa feels. I felt so distrustful of almost everyone and then wondered is it because they are dodgy people or am I looking through Louisa's eyes. I questioned so much and absorbed page after page to see where it was going, what was coming next and what exactly had happened to Oliver's wife.

This was my first dance with this author, it won't be my last, a tension that starts almost from the very beginning and pulls you in bit by bit, 4/5 for me this time.



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive