Friday, 14 December 2018

A Christmas Gift by Sue Moorcroft

A Christmas GiftA Christmas Gift by Sue Moorcroft
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - < 2 days

Pages - 384

Publisher - Avon

Source - Review Copy

Blurb from Goodreads

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.



My Review

Georgine is struggling, once a girl from a wealthy family who wanted for nothing to working in a school and living from paycheck to paycheck. Her ex boyfriend has left her with a ton of debt, baliffs at the door and he is MIA. Concentrating on work and getting through the bills she gets a new assistant, Joe Blackthorn, he is attractive, a bit standoffish initially but good at what he does. Concentrating on making the school show the best it can be, dealing with family issues, her relationship breakdown, Georgine needs a break in life. When she spends more time with Joe it seems there is much more to him that she initially thought!

Oh you guys, this is my first dance with this author and it won't be my last, also my first festive book of the year. I love a book that has nice people in it and we get to meet Georgine and her family and just how much she does for them. She seems such a nice girl and her recent ex just needed a slap with reality and responsibility. We all know folk like this and in a world were so many are out for themselves it is so nice to meet characters who are good eggs!

Relationships are a huge part of this book, work relationships, friendships, partners, families and some of the struggles that many of us have experienced. Money, horrible exes, siblings, looking after a sick relative, money woes. Even with sadder aspects in the book it is actually a feel good type read with heaps of realism in it. The struggle is absolutely real for Georgine and when life pushes she just keeps going and we watch her struggle along but keep the spirit. She has great faith in her students and I just love reading about folk who actually love and enjoy what they do. I loved the musical aspects of the book, we all can imagine the corruption within the musical world and whilst it isn't a huge aspect of the book, where it features it is done really well. I really enjoyed this wee book, this may have been the first dance with this author but it won't be my last 4/5 for me this time!



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive