Wednesday, 13 June 2018

The Munitions Girls by Rosie Archer

The Munitions Girls (The Bomb Girls #1)The Munitions Girls by Rosie Archer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 2 days

Pages - 432

Publisher - Quercus

Source - Amazon

Blurb from Goodreads

An enthralling, eventful WW2 saga from the popular writer of the Daisy Lane novels - perfect for fans of Daisy Styles.

1943, Gosport, Hampshire. Pixie Saunders is 19 and employed in the local armaments factory. Not for the first time, her mother has run off with a dodgy-looking bloke, leaving Pixie to pay the rent and fend for herself. Pixie, along with her best friend Rita, Em, the factory overseer, and the rest of the girls are making the most of the war while trying to stay alive. The work is dangerous and the hours long, but in the evenings they take off their overalls and go to the pub or, better still, go dancing. Pixie meets American serviceman Cal and falls in love. But then Cal rejoins his ship.

When Pixie falls pregnant, her life changes dramatically. Alone and unable to work, she has to rely on the kindness of friends to help her survive. Happiness seems like a thing of the past. Little does she know that there are plenty of surprises waiting for her - good ones at that. Love may be closer than she thinks.


My Review

Meet Pixie, Rita & Em all working in the local factory helping to make weapons for the war. It is a dangerous job and not just because of the risk of blowing themselves up, their boss and son have wondering eyes and hands. Pixie lives at home with her mother when her mother graces her with her presence, normally flitting in and out, running up bills then going off with her newest man. Em runs the factory floor, cares for her disabled husband and her youngest daughter who is a beautiful young woman with the mind of a much younger child. Rita lives at home with her mother and stepdad and would rather be in the factor at risk or in the pub, anything to not be home.

This is a story of friendship, the threat of bombs a daily occurrence, family, the best of humans and the worst. I loved Pixie, no matter how shady her mother was she remained so loyal, she is a feisty, strong, independent and quick to stand up to injustice. I love when you get a strong female character and whilst she did swoon a bit I thought she was grand.

There are lots of themes to the book, some is light hearted, warming, sweet, however there are darker themes, abuse, social judgement, the ravages of war. It is very well written, the characters carved well to draw you in and actually want to know what happens next, even to the ones you aren't a fan of. This was my first time reading this author, it won't be my last, I have bought the next two in the series already, 4/5 for me this time.



View all my reviews

6 comments:

  1. Love the title! Love the setting! And the premise? It sounds wonderful. I'm definitely in! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. It is so striking how stories of World War II still fascinate. Women working in factories were a key component in the allied victory. This also can make for some worthwhile fiction. The book sounds very good for a lot of reasons.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sound sound like compelling WWII historical fiction, thanks to your enthusiastic review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi Lainy, This sounds like a really good book and Pixie, Em and Rkta certainly have had alot to deal with in tneir life and now the war. Yet they don't give up and I think alot can be keatned from Pixie about having strength in hard times.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I saw this book somewhere else, too.... maybe at Tracy's or Yvonne's. It looks really good, especially since I've had WWII majorly on the brain after our visit to the museum in NOLA. Historical Fiction is one of my favorite genres.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hadn't heard of this book before but I love historical fiction, especially WWII based, so I'll have to check this book out at some point. It sounds great!

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive