Sunday, 24 June 2018

The Angel by Katerina Diamond

The Angel (DS Imogen Grey, #3)The Angel by Katerina Diamond
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time taken to read - 1 day

Pages - 464

Publisher - Avon

Source - Book shop

Blurb from Goodreads

THE TRUTH WON’T STAY LOCKED UP FOREVER

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he really deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

Miles and Grey are back in the thrilling new novel from bestselling author Katerina Diamond, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge.


My Review

This is book three in the series, whilst you could technically read this as a standalone I think you would enjoy it more reading the previous and getting the back story. Gabriel Webb and his beautiful girlfriend are goths and end up in the wrong place at the wrong time. Gabriel is in jail awaiting his punishment, he won't give his girlfriend or the people he was with. DS Grey and Miles are assigned to the case and soon suspects not only is Webb innocent but there is more, much more to this case.

Both detectives have things going on from their past, more so Miles which has a huge part in this story. Grey also faces issues from her past making her question the thing she holds above all else, her loyalty to the job. It has heat, relationships, jail life, sex, violence, murder, sexual references, police investigation and partnership. I love the friendship between the two detectives and how they work together.

The chapters are relatively short which as you know I do love in a story, great for when you are working but if your concentration is off it helps for dipping in and out. I think we get to see a wee bit more to who the characters are, the more personal side without losing focus on the actual case, investigations.

The prison scenes with Webb are hard going at times, it isn't always the what happens more the threat, ominous atmosphere and psychological torture. Diamond creates split themes in the book, the jail with Webb, the police investigation, the deaths, the police personal lives but does so where it all links and doesn't detract from each story line. I think that can be a balsy move by authors, too much going on and the reader becomes bored and or frustrated but if you do it right you reader just want more! 4/5 for me this time, I cannot wait to pick up book four!


View all my reviews

1 comment:

  1. Lainy, this book, and series, sound very intense! I hope you get to read book 4 before too long.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive