Tuesday, 26 February 2013

ARC - The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg

The Lost Boy (Patrik Hedström, #7)The Lost Boy by Camilla Läckberg
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Time Taken To Read - 6 days

Publisher - HarperFiction

Blurb from Goodreads

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. On a late summer's night, a young woman jumps in her car, her hands slippery with blood on the steering wheel. Taking her five-year-old son, Nathalie flees to the only safe haven she knows: the island of Graskar off the coast of Fjallbacka...Meanwhile, Detective Patrik Hedstrom has barely stepped foot inside his office following a lengthy sick leave before he catches a murder investigation. A man has been murdered in his home: the victim, Mats Sverin, was the council's financial director, heading up a regeneration project worth millions. But when Patrik and his team start digging into the dead man's life, all they can uncover is unanswered questions. Why was Mats in such a rush to return to his home town of Fjallbacka after years in Gothenburg? And is it pure coincidence that Mats's childhood sweetheart Nathalie has also suddenly returned to the area? Mats visited Nathalie on Graskar before his death. The locals call the island 'The Ghost Isle' - they say that it's haunted, and that the dead have something to tell the living. But will anyone get close enough to uncover the dark secrets that lurk there?



My Review

The book draws you in from the first page, in fact even the first sentence. "It was only when she placed her hands on the steering wheel that she saw they were bloody". Nathalie is fleeing with her son, her hands covered in blood, but what has happened and why is she running? Patrik is a police officer in the small town of Fjallbacka, where Nathalie is running to, married to a successful novelist Erica trying to cope with grief and a murder case. Mats Sverin was left behind years ago by Nathalie, now she is back and suddenly he is dead. Is it coincidence? What has Mats been hiding and did it lead to his death?

I liked the story and found myself drawn in fairly quickly however there was far too many characters and different stories going on for me to keep up. Obviously you have the main one(s) but there are quite a few side lines ones and I kept finding myself having to go back to rediscover who was which story which is a bit frustrating.

There is also, in between chapters where the story goes back to FJALLBACKA 1870, the story is always titled and the year also written in italics so you know it has gone back in time. I loved reading these small glimpses of the past and Emelie's story however by the end of it I honestly thought, really? Thats is as I would have loved so much more and in depth.

This was my first time reading this author and to be honest, nothing is lost in translation and it's not often I will say that. It was a good story and you get tie ups to just about all the stories but I did find a few of the stories could have been dropped and or concentrated more on the main ones. However all in all a good introduction to this author and her work, I would consider more from this series, 3/5 for me. Thanks so much to the publisher, HarperFiction for sending me an ARC copy - available to buy from Hardback and ebook from all good retailers for £12.99 from 4th April 2013.

View all my reviews

3 comments:

  1. Oooh I cannot wait to read this one Lainy! I love this series and have thoroughly enjoyed all bar one of them - I can highly recommend starting from the beginning as you get to know all the characters really well. She's one of the only authors I will buy in hardback because I can't wait to get my hands on them!

    ReplyDelete
  2. What an odd name, Fjallbacka. I'd get frustrated too with all the different characters and storylines. Hopefully if you read more in the series, they get better.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don’t enjoy stories where I can’t remember who the characters are, it sort of spoils things if I have to keep going back. It sounds sort of interesting though so I may give it a go.

    ReplyDelete

Well from I first started reviewing

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

More Competitions available at

Blog Archive